Join the Speaker Initiative

Many non-verbal children are not provided with an alternative method of speaking and participate in instruction or behavior therapy 'solely as a listener'. Others are provided with an alternative method, such as picture exchange or an electronic tablet, that is not portable or requires multiple responses to make simple requests. These methods are often abandoned by the children, resulting in young adults with problem behavior 'when they want to make requests'. Essential for Living will help you select an alternative, portable method of speaking that 'matches the learner's current skill repertoire', 'results in virtually effortless speaking', 'permits them to function as much as possible like someone who uses spoken words', and is much less like to be abandoned.

Learn More About the Speaker Initiative
67 New Speakers

Upcoming Online Training Sessions and Workshops

Due to overwhelming interest and a limited number of available slots, please contact us if you register and are unable to attend. This will permit others to register. Thank You.



Online Trainings

Online trainings are generally one-hour events which occur severyal times each month. They include one more components of Essential for Living or are a general Q&A session. There is no fee for Online Trainings / Q&As.
Date Title Details + Registration
August 19th, 2020
11:00 AM New York time, 10:00 AM Chicago time, 8:00 AM Los Angeles time, 4:00 PM London time, and 5:00 PM Rome time
[ONE-HOUR ONLINE TRAINING WITH Q AND A] EFL-Training Option 1 (Aug 19):  An one-hour online 'Introduction to Essential for Living' with Q and A for individuals or small groups within an agency — will familiarize an audience with Essential for Living and will answer any and all questions from participants who are either new to EFL or current users. This session is neither designed nor sufficient to teach staff how to conduct assessments or record learner progress.
August 26th, 2020
11:00 AM New York time, 10:00 AM Chicago time, 8:00 AM Los Angeles time, 4:00 PM London time, and 5:00 PM Rome time
[ONE-HOUR ONLINE TRAINING WITH Q AND A] EFL-Training Option 1 (Aug 26):  An one-hour online 'Introduction to Essential for Living' with Q and A for individuals or small groups within an agency — will familiarize an audience with Essential for Living and will answer any and all questions from participants who are either new to EFL or current users. This session is neither designed nor sufficient to teach staff how to conduct assessments or record learner progress.



Online Workshops

Online Workshops are generally three-hour or six-hour events which occur several times each year. Online Workshops include one, several, or all of the components of Essential for Living. There is a fee for Online Workshops.
Date Title Details + Registration
August 17th, 2020
12:00 PM New York time, 9:00 AM Los Angeles time, 10:00 AM Denver time, 11:00 AM Chicago time, 5:00 PM London time, 6:00 PM Rome time
[TWO-DAY ONLINE WORKSHOP:] EFL-Training Option 8: Online Essential for Living Workshop [six hours]: Part 1 [Aug 17 - three hours] Learning to Conduct an Assessment and Develop a Program Plan using Essential for Living and Part 2 [Aug. 18 - three hours] Teaching Functional, Life Skills and Recording Learner Progress
August 24th, 2020
12:00 PM New York time, 9:00 AM Los Angeles time, 10:00 AM Denver time, 11:00 AM Chicago time, 5:00 PM London time, 6:00 PM Rome time
[TWO-DAY ONLINE WORKSHOP:] EFL-Training Option 8: Online Essential for Living Workshop [six hours]: Part 1 [Aug 24 - three hours] Learning to Conduct an Assessment and Develop a Program Plan using Essential for Living and Part 2 [Aug. 25 - three hours] Teaching Functional, Life Skills and Recording Learner Progress



If you’ve missed an Online Training or Workshop and don’t see one that you can attend coming up, don’t worry, we list new events frequently, just keep an eye on this page.

Join us at the next Essential for Living Workshop:

August 17th, 2020, 12:00 PM New York time, 9:00 AM Los Angeles time, 10:00 AM Denver time, 11:00 AM Chicago time, 5:00 PM London time, 6:00 PM Rome time
Title: [TWO-DAY ONLINE WORKSHOP:] EFL-Training Option 8: Online Essential for Living Workshop [six hours]: Part 1 [Aug 17 - three hours] Learning to Conduct an Assessment and Develop a Program Plan using Essential for Living and Part 2 [Aug. 18 - three hours] Teaching Functional, Life Skills and Recording Learner Progress
Sponsoring Agency: Patrick McGreevy, Ph.D., P.A. [and Associates]
Location: online